Over the years you may have unknowingly given Facebook apps access to your personal information and photos.
Every time you install an app on Facebook, you agree to give the app access to certain parts of your profile. It makes complete sense that Google maps needs to access your location, or Instagram would need to access your photos.
What we tend to forget are all the other apps we’ve given various permissions to over the years. Every quiz you’ve ever taken, or that old favorite app, “See who looked at your profile”, may have had access to your profile for YEARS.
For example, I opened up my apps on the left and chose the “Cities I’ve Visited” app (which I only used once). Let’s take a look at what this app has been able to see on my Facebook profile.
This app can see virtually everything on my profile, and it needs to be removed. By clicking the privacy at the top right of my Facebook page, I can access the Privacy Checkup.
Hit “Next” to go to step 2 where you can review your approved apps.
I’ve scrolled through to find the “Cities I’ve Visited” app. Click the X next to the app to remove it.
You can repeat the process with as many apps as you’d like, and when you’re done, click next and then finish to exit the Privacy Checkup.